Have you been struggling with the loss of a loved one, close friend, or a family pet? Grief can be an intense experience associated with strong feelings of sadness, guilt, regret, and even anger.

We often feel alone or lost and can question if there is meaning to our lives. Others may find a positive experience in grief and view loss as a release. Regardless these emotions are often surprising and can be deeply confusing. During this time it is normal feel the need to run to cry or even to laugh. Sharing your feelings is an important part of the grieving process.

While there is no normal or expected grief response, there are five common stages, observed by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, through which many people walk. These stages include:

  1. Denial – Disbelieving the current reality as a way of coping with overwhelming facts.
  2. Anger – Initial emotional reaction to awareness of loss.
  3. Bargaining – Adjusting to loss through use of negotiation, compromise, or resolutions.
  4. Depression – Overwhelming feelings of helplessness and hopelessness.
  5. Acceptance – Coming to terms with the loss; sadness begins to give way to hope.

Take time to reach out to other family members and friends and share your feelings and memories about the bereaved. Should you find yourself struggling with the five stages of grief or just want someone to share in your struggle, our professional counselors are here to help.  Please contact one of the counselors on this page for your appointment.

Counselors Who Can Help

To make an appointment, please use contact information below

Meredith Persenaire

For an appointment, contact: 616-228-7601

Jennifer Pickett

For an appointment, contact: 269-397-0088